The 12 Songs of 2020

Steve McAlphabet
8 min readDec 30, 2020
Photo by Dark Rider on Unsplash

After attending the SRQ New Year’s Eve party at the Sarasota Municipal Auditorium and seeing a band perform a rousing rendition of “Pour Some Sugar On Me”, one of my first endeavors for the new year was to learn how to play the iconic Def Leppard song myself. While it was certainly fun to play, it soon dawned on me that my energy would be better used in writing a song of my own. Staying in the key of Am, I started to let the chords come together, and eventually a melody came to mind.

I recorded myself singing the melody in a “na na na” refrain and listened to it as I ran some errands. Still not sure about what the song was about, I reached out to the woman who’d given me a New Year’s kiss and asked her to be my muse. She said that the song was about “finding beauty in the brokenness, living in the moment or the journey… vulnerability,” and so the song “Broken” came to be.

Although I have often felt as if I were broken in the past, and still sometimes feel that way to this day, I have also recognized that I can still be useful. And although the system that runs our world may seem very broken at times, I have come to…

--

--

Steve McAlphabet

Steve releases a new song every week. This summer, he is taking his 4th multi-state motorcycle trip to reach his goal of riding to all 48 contiguous states.