My Moments of Ignorance

Steve McAlphabet
3 min readOct 19, 2021

While many people know me as being fun living, thoughtful, and considerate, some remember me for my lesser moments of being an insensitive buffoon. Generally, I can be quite empathetic and caring, which often allows me to be a wonderful host and enjoyable company. But sometimes, I’m just an asshole.

I don’t necessarily mean to be, but I have a lot of thoughts screaming around in my head at any given moment, and sometimes, I cling to the wrong ones and express them at inappropriate times. Basically, when I focus my attention properly, I can be quite prolific, some have even said brilliant. But if I listen to my ego, I say some really stupid shit.

For instance, last night I attended the poetry group I started 3 years ago, having passed the hosting baton to my friend Martha when I left to ride my motorcycle around the country. A woman who has been coming with her husband for the last few weeks, both of whom I really like and wanted to get to know better, shared her second poem about someone she has lost within the last couple of weeks after they received a Covid vaccination. Within a week of each other, she lost both a friend and a family member.

After clarifying whom she lost, I asked which vaccine they got. She said that it was the Astrazeneca, which is basically the Pfizer shot in the UK from what I understand. So my stupid ego, apparently bereft of…

--

--

Steve McAlphabet

Steve releases a new song every week. This summer, he is taking his 4th multi-state motorcycle trip to reach his goal of riding to all 48 contiguous states.